Beef Heart Stew

IMG_20140302_155001

Part of the Wahls Protocol is eating organ meat once a week. Beef heart was pretty intimidating to me.  I did not grow up eating organ meat.  Throw me some escargot or frog’s legs, no problem, but a big ol’ cow heart freaks me out.  I am pleased to say that this dish turned out “hearty” and flavorful.  I apologize for the cheesy pun, I just couldn’t help myself.

First thing was to prepare the beef heart.  Here is how it comes in a package.

Image

To prepare the heart I cut it in half and chopped off all of the fatty bits and any weird ventricley or hard to the touch parts.  A beef heart is pretty cheap and giant so cutting away a big portion of it didn’t make me feel that terrible.  I figured the less texturally frightening it was the better. Here is what I ended up with.

Image

Next, I I sprinkled the heart with a little sea salt and dredged it in some arrowroot flour.

IMG_20140302_160646

See?  No longer terrifying.  Here is the full recipe.

  • 1 Beef heart trimmed of fat, blood vessels and ventricles, cubed.
  • 1/4 cup of arrowroot flour
  • 2 Tbsp of coconut oil
  • 4 cloves of garlic minced
  • 1 medium yellow onion chopped
  • 1 cup of mushrooms sliced
  • 1 cup of dry red wine
  • 3-4 cups of water
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 4 cloves
  • 1 Tsp of sea salt
  • 1/2 Tsp of black pepper
  • 2 large carrots sliced
  • 1 small turnip cubed
  • 3 baby bok choy with core removed
  • 1 TBSP of balsamic vinegar

Prepare beef heart as noted above.  Heat coconut oil on medium heat and add beef heart to pan. Stir until evenly browned.  Do not crowd meat or it will not brown nicely.  Remove meat from pot and put aside.  Saute garlic, onion and mushrooms until onions start to soften.  Put meat back in pot and add red wine.  Bring to a boil and let cook for 3-5 minutes to ensure the alcohol burns off.  Add in water, salt, pepper, bay leaf, cloves.  Simmer for 1 hour, Add carrots and turnip.  Bring mixture back up to a boil, then reduce to low simmer.  Cover pot and let stew cook 20 mins until vegetables are fork tender.  Add in bok choy and cook until it is just wilted.  You want it to maintain its color and a little bit of crunch. Remove from heat and add in balsamic vinegar.  If you prefer a gravy like consistency you can mix equal parts of arrowroot powder and cold water and add it to your stew. I suggest doing it a teaspoon full at a time.

Leave a comment